Kerr Fatou Online Media House
with focus on the Gambia and African News. Gambia Press Union 2021 TV Platform OF The Year





Demba Ali Jawo
Chairperson, National Journalism Awards Committee


The Panel of Judges for the National Journalism Awards on Thursday, October 8th at 10pm published the final list of nominees that will proceed to the finals of the 2020 awards.

Out of the 33 stories that made it at the preliminary nominations, three were found to have missed some key criteria and therefore disqualified.

“These stories were not dropped due to substantive contents, rather, some new information emerged after a thorough review of all shortlisted nominations leading to their disqualification,” Chairperson of the Panel of Judges, Mrs. Fatim Badjie-Sinyan said.

A key challenge faced by the judges this year is that they did not conduct their work physically as done in past years due to Covid-19 restrictions. They had to work very hard to assess all the over 200 submissions online.

A review of bids to broadcast the virtual event by the Communications sub Committee also saw Eye Africa TV emerge as winner of the tender process. They will begin work tomorrow Monday into final preparations for the event on October 24th, at the Kairaba International ConferenceCentre.

Every effort has been made to maintain a credible vetting process for the maintenance of public trust and confidence in the competitiveness of the National Journalism Awards.



Yours faithfully

Demba Ali Jawo

Chairperson, National Journalism Awards Committee



Comments are closed.