Kerr Fatou Online Media House
with focus on the Gambia and African News. Gambia Press Union 2021 TV Platform OF The Year

Gambia decides on travel to and from COVID-19 hotspot countries


State House, Banjul, 20th March 2020 – President Adama Barrow has been updated on the outcome of the Ministerial Committee Meeting on the travel arrangements to and from hotspot countries.   It is in this light that the Office of the President informs the general public, all embassies and airlines that COVID-19 hotspot countries wishing to evacuate their citizens may do so within 48 hours and this will be subject to review as the situation demands.

Furthermore, all Gambians abroad wishing to return to The Gambia from the hotspot countries are hereby informed that they will undergo mandatory quarantine for 14 days upon arrival in approved facilities.

Also, the public is hereby informed that Non-Gambians from hotspot countries will not be allowed entry except in exceptional circumstances.  Once again, the public is urged to cooperate with Health Workers and all relevant authorities in the national efforts to prevent, contain and manage COVID-19.

The public is informed that the following countries listed below are identified as hotspot countries:

Asian and Pacific Region
1.              China
2.              Republic of Korea
3.              Japan
4.              Malaysia
5.              Australia
6.              Singapore
7.              Philippines
8.              Indonesia
9.              Thailand
10.           India

European Region
11.           Italy
12.           Spain
13.           France
14.           Germany
15.           Switzerland
16.           The United Kingdom
17.           Netherlands
18.           Norway
19.           Austria
20.           Belgium
21.           Sweden
22.           Denmark
23.           Czechia
24.           Greece
25.           Portugal
26.           Israel
27.           Finland
28.           Slovenia
29.           Ireland
30.           Estonia
31.           Iceland
32.           Romania
33.           Poland
34.           San Marino
35.           Luxembourg
36.           Turkey
37.           Russian Federation
38.           Slovakia

Eastern Mediterranean Region
39.           Islamic Republic of Iran
40.           Qatar
41.           Bahrain
42.           Pakistan
43.           Egypt
44.           Saudi Arabia
45.           Kuwait
46.           Iraq
47.           Lebanon
48.           United Arab Emirates

49.           United States of America
50.           Canada
51.           Brazil
52.           Chile
53.           Ecuador
54.           Peru
African region
55.           South Africa

Amie Bojang-Sissoho
Director of Press & Public Relations
Office of the President, State House, Banjul

Comments are closed.