Kerr Fatou Online Media House
with focus on the Gambia and African News. Gambia Press Union 2021 TV Platform OF The Year

UN General Assembly Voting Against Russia’s Invasion Of Ukraine: Gambia Votes, Senegal Abstains

Antonio Guterres
UN Secretary General
 Photo Credit: Aljazeera

By Landing Ceesay

The Republic of Senegal abstained from voting while The Gambia voted against Russia’s Invasion of Ukraine as the United Nations General Assembly overwhelmingly condemned the invasion.

The Assembly (today) Wednesday voted to reprimand Russia over its invasion of Ukraine and demand Moscow to stop fighting and withdraw its troops from the territory of the Eastern European country.

Out of 194 members of the General Assembly, 141 members, including the Gambia voted against Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, while 5 member states voted in favour, and 35 member states including Senegal, abstained from voting on the draft resolution “Aggression against Ukraine” which has been co-sponsored by 94 countries.

Out of the 35 member-states that abstained from voting, 15 of them are African countries.

The African countries that voted against Russia’s invasion of Ukraine are The Gambia, Benin, Botswana, Cape Verde, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Tunisia, and Zambia.

The African countries that abstained from voting against Russia’s Invasion of Ukraine are Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Madagascar, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Senegal, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, and Zimbabwe.

Comments are closed.