Kerr Fatou Online Media House
with focus on the Gambia and African News. Gambia Press Union 2021 TV Platform OF The Year

IEC Rejects Dr Ceesay, Mai Fatty, 13 other Aspirants

Dr Ismalia Ceesay & Mai Ahmad Fatty


By Landing Ceesay 


The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) has rejected the nomination of Dr Ismaila Ceesay of Citizens’ Alliance (CA), Mai Ahmed Fatty of Gambia Moral Congress (GMC) and 13 other aspirants.


Following the successful completion of the filing of documents by the aspirants for their nomination to contest on the 4th December presidential election; and after the public scrutiny of their credential, the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) disapproved their bids. 


Those whose rejected are: Mai Ahmed Fatty, leader of the Gambia Moral Congress (GMC); Dr Ismaila Ceesay, leader of the Citizens’ Alliance (CA); Sheikh Tijan Hydara, leader of the Gambia Alliance for National Unity (GANU); Yusupha A Dumbuya, leader of Democratic Party (DP); Alieu Sowe, leader of the Gambia Action Party (GAP); Lamin Satou Bojang, leader of Alliance for National Re-orientation and Development (ARND); Joseph Henry Joof, Independent aspirant; Marie Sock, Independent aspirant; Alhaji Mamadi Kurang, Independent aspirant; Ebrima Tabora Manneh, Independent aspirant; Momodou Bah, Independent aspirant; Bankole Yao Jojo Ahadzie, Independent aspirant; Mamadi K.S. Camara, Independent aspirant; Sheikh Matarr Niang, Independent aspirant; and Papa Faal, Independent aspirant. 


The reason for their rejection according to the IEC is based on their failure to comply with section 42 of the Elections Act 2009. 

Comments are closed.