Kerr Fatou Online Media House
with focus on the Gambia and African News. Gambia Press Union 2021 TV Platform OF The Year

Gambian NAMs Take Oath At ECOWAS Parliament Amidst Legal Dispute

0 387

Gambian Delegates At The ECOWAS Parliament In Abuja, Nigeria

By Ramatoulie Jawo

On Thursday, April 4, 2024, five members of The Gambia’s National Assembly were administered their oaths at the ECOWAS Parliament, marking the start of the 6th Legislature in Abuja, Nigeria. This significant event unfolded notwithstanding a judicial order from The Gambia’s High Court.

The inauguration of the Sixth Legislature commenced following the conclusion of the Fifth Legislature on March 8, 2024. The session was graced by the presence of His Excellency Bola Ahmed Tinubu, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Chair of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government, held at the House of Representatives of the Community’s headquarters in Abuja.

Leading the new Gambian delegation to the ECOWAS parliament is Majority Leader Hon. Billay G. Tunkara, representing Kantora Constituency, accompanied by Minority Leader Hon. Alhagie S. Darboe from Brikama North Constituency, Hon. Amadou Camara from Nianija Constituency, Hon. Sheriff Sarr from Jeshwang Constituency, and Hon. Maimuna Ceesay, a Nominated Member.

In their oaths, all members reiterated their commitment to serving the interests of the West African sub-region under the leadership of the ECOWAS Authority Chairman, alongside representatives from other member states.

This swearing-in of the Gambian delegation comes amidst legal disputes, with the High Court of the Gambia ordering the National Assembly clerk to refrain from replacing former members, including Hon. Fatoumatta Njai, Hon. Kebba K. Barrow, and Hon. Samba Jallow, in the ECOWAS Parliament.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.