Kerr Fatou Online Media House
with focus on the Gambia and African News. Gambia Press Union 2021 TV Platform OF The Year

Parliamentary Elections 2022: Lists Of Constituencies PDOIS Led-coalition Wants To Contest For Seats

members PDOIS  led-coalition

By Landing Ceesay

The People’s Democratic Organisation for Independence and Socialism (PDOIS) led-coalition has listed constituencies it plans to put up candidates for the April 2022 parliamentary elections.

The led-coalition intends to contest for seats in the following constituencies for the April 2022 National Assembly elections: Sandu, Kantora, Tumana, Basse and Jimara constituencies in the Upper River Region (URR); Upper Fuladu West,  Niamina East, Niamina West, and Niamina Dankunku constituencies in the Central River Region (CRR) South; Sami, Nianija, Niani, Lower Saloum, and Upper Saloum constituencies in the Central River Region (CRR) North; Sabach Sanjal, Upper Nuimi, Lower Nuimi and Jokadu constituencies in the North Bank Region (NBR); Foni Jarrol, Foni Brefet, Brikama North, Brikama South, Kombo South, Sanimentereng, Old Yundum and Busumbala constituencies in the West Coast Region (WCR);Bakau, Serekunda West, Jeswang, Tallinding, Bundung, and LatriKunda Sabiji constituencies in the Kanifing Municipality (KM); Banjul Central and Banjul South constituencies in Banjul.

The coalition added that any of its members might propose any additional constituency that is not in the list where he or she thinks should be contested.

Meanwhile, the PDOIS after nominations for the December presidential election formed a coalition with the All People’s Party (APP) and Alhaji Mamadi Kurang, leader of Youth for Change.

After finishing fourth in the December election behind NPP, UDP and GDC, all the parties in the coalition agreed to begin a consultation process on candidature and participation no later than end of December, for the National Assembly Elections early next year.

In a statement, the coalition said maximum efforts should be made by PDOIS to retain its four seats (Wuli East, Wuli West, Serekunda and Banjul North constituencies) in the National Assembly. 

Comments are closed.