Kerr Fatou Online Media House
with focus on the Gambia and African News. Gambia Press Union 2021 TV Platform OF The Year

IEC Accepts nomination Of Darboe, Barrow, Four others

Ousainu ANM Darboe, Adama Barrow, Mama Kandeh, Halifa Sallah, Abdoulie Ebrima Jammeh and Essa Mbye Faal
Accepted candidates for December presidential election


By Landing Ceesay 


The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) has accepted the nomination of Ousainu ANM Darboe of the United Democratic Party (UDP), Adama Barrow of the National People’s Party (NPP), Mama Kandeh of the Gambia Democratic Congress (GDC), Halifa Sallah of People Democratic Organisation for Independence and Socialism (PDOIS), Abdoulie Ebrima Jammeh of National Unity Party (NUP), and independent candidate Essa Mbye Faal. 


This development followed the successful completion of the nomination process by the mentioned candidates for the 4th December election, after public scrutiny of their details submitted to the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) by various aspirants.


The reason for their approval is based on their compliance with section 42 of the Elections Act 2009. 


However, 15 aspirants- Mai Ahmed Fatty, leader of the Gambia Moral Congress (GMC); Dr Ismaila Ceesay, leader of the Citizens’ Alliance (CA); Sheikh Tijan Hydara, leader of the Gambia Alliance for National Unity (GANU); Yusupha A Dumbuya, leader of Democratic Party (DP); Alieu Sowe, leader of the Gambia Action Party (GAP); Lamin Satou Bojang, leader of Alliance for National Re-orientation and Development (ARND); Joseph Henry Joof, Independent aspirant; Marie Sock, Independent aspirant; Alhaji Mamadi Kurang, Independent aspirant; Ebrima Tabora Manneh, Independent aspirant; Momodou Bah, Independent aspirant; Bankole Yao Jojo Ahadzie, Independent aspirant; Mamadi K.S. Camara, Independent aspirant; Sheikh Matarr Niang, Independent aspirant; and Papa Faal, Independent aspirant have been rejected


Meanwhile, the reason for their rejection is based on their failure to comply with section 42 of the Elections Act 2009. 

Comments are closed.